



Bishop of Lancaster

The Bishop of Lancaster is an episcopal title used by a suffragan Bishop of the Church of England Diocese of Blackburn, in the Province of York. The title takes its name from the traditional county town of Lancaster in Lancashire.

The Bishop of Lancaster is one of two suffragan Bishops in the Diocese of Blackburn. She is a spiritual leader, teacher and evangelist.

The Bishop's role includes supporting people, refreshing existing ministry and growing new ministry, engaging in community life and public issues and managing church resources and structures.

The Bishop of Lancaster has a house in Shireshead, near Forton.

Bishops of Lancaster

- 19361954Benjamin Pollard19551975Anthony Hoskyns-Abrahall19751985Dennis Page19851989Ian Harland19901997Jack Nicholls19982006Stephen Pedley20062017Geoff Pearson
- 2018Jill Duff